Camp NaNoWriMo

I am very excited about July this year. I am going to 2 camps… one out of state and on right at my computer. The literal camp is a week long Christian teen camp that I absolutely adore. My first time attending was last year, and it was phenomenal and life changing and just hands down amazing. I will write more about that once it happens.

The second camp is virtual and a favorite of writers. It is called “Camp NaNoWriMo”. It is a challenge to write a book over the month of July. There is also just NaNoWriMo which takes place in November. I am working on the same project as last year. My WIP is currently titled Self InflictedHere is the synopsis I have written:

16-year-old Teagan Lotte was raped by her boyfriend and believes it is her fault when she ends up pregnant. After assuming her parents won’t accept her, she runs away. Getting off at the wrong bus stop leaves Teagan stranded in an odd place called Peoria, Illinois. Living in secret inside of a church basement, Teagan discovers a few things about Christianity, and herself, that she never knew. Stuck between two boys and two completely different worlds, Teagan must make a choice. But she can’t choose just for herself anymore. The clock is ticking and her baby is coming.

The goal of my story is to be both YA Fiction and Christian Fiction. This way my story will have a wider audience and reach a whole different group of people with the Word. My current word count rests at 21,035 words. Obviously, I still have a long way to go. My goal for NaNoWriMo is to write 30,000 words, which means 968 words every day. I am very excited about this work and I am so excited about camp!

Leave a Reply

